As voting is compulsary in Belgium, I had to leave my beloved PC for half an hour to go and tick the right box… Everyone has to do it – even the royals – and as I just heard on the news, so are the French today. Just goes to show how much politics plays a part in my life!

At 3 o’clock local time the voting closes and a few hours later we should about know who will push us around for a few years again. If you want to follow the results, the national broadcasting company made a special site for it.

In our town, voting happens electronically. You get a card that you have to insert in a slot after which you can vote on the screen. I probably didn’t have enough coffee yet, as it took me a few seconds prodding the screen with my finger before I realised I had to use the special pen provided with it – d’oh! I prefer the old times, when you had a (extremely large sometimes!) paper you had to unfold and find your preferred party and then use a fat red pencil to colour in the dot next to your candidate.

I didn’t take my camera with me this time – and the kids stayed home too – so no recent pics of the crowds… just an old one of the local elections of last year. I hope they’re happy with the results this time so we don’t need to go voting again too soon 😛

In

